This post has been de-listed
It is no longer included in search results and normal feeds (front page, hot posts, subreddit posts, etc). It remains visible only via the author's post history.
Usually, I am very cautious. I still live with my parents, and I’ve been vegetarian since I was 13. Every time my parents buy a dessert, I ask them if there is gelatine. Usually there isn’t, but I ALWAYS check the label anyway; I’ve learned not to trust anybody when they assume it is suitable for vegetarians without checking.
A few nights ago, my dad made the mistake of assuming something was vegetarian but when I checked it had beef gelatine. I didn’t eat it beforehand, so that wasn’t the problem and we all got on with our evenings. But then today I was in the shop and decided to check another item that I had assumed I could have, but never properly checked.
My mum would buy it for us every few months as a treat, and the first time she did I asked if it was vegetarian and she said yes. For some reason, this was the item I never checked, but after my dad didn’t check a few days ago, and it was a similar product, I decided to make sure.
The ingredients list was in Spanish, so I had to use translate on my phone, but it had gelatine.
I’m so angry at myself for not checking, even though I’m usually so careful. A lot of the time when I ask them if something is vegetarian they think I overreact since it usually is and there are few exceptions.
I just needed to get this out there. I’m so sad! Vegetarianism has been such a big part of my life for YEARS now, and although it is just a blip, I have now learned that I need to be more vigilant.
I ate a sweet potato maki at a sushi restaurant near my old place for years thinking the sauce on top was soy sauce, but it turned out to be eel sauce! We do our best, but slip ups are bound to happen.
Subreddit
Post Details
- Posted
- 3 months ago
- Reddit URL
- View post on reddit.com
- External URL
- reddit.com/r/Vegetariani...